The Sari Abaya I Made On Me…

6 Mar

A while back I did a tutorial on an abaya I made out of a sari (indian garment that you wrap and drape around your body), and here I am wearing it to show you how it looks on an actual person. I absolutely love the color and look of this abaya, but like I said before, I am not big on abayas, I don’t really wear them. I guess I will save this for a special occasion, maybe Eid-ul-Fitr this summer??? It’s perfect for the summer, it’s light and airy and very comfortable.

Adjusting the hem of my abaya, the hem and the center piece (two borders pieces sewn together) was once the border of the sari.

Hijab made from remaining fabric, I just serged the edges, but you can hand hem or machine hem it as well, the finish looks clean without any fraying.

Gorgeous pattern!!!

The color is just fabulous!

Oh yeah, I'm kind of preggers!!! 😉 xx

Here is the link on the tutorial I did on the abaya, https://hijabizlovefashiontoo.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/diy-abaya/. Sorry about the video quality, when I was recording the lighting was great in my room and then I saw the video!!! :(…

You can be as creative as you like, you never have to follow my directions or anyone elses completely unless you want your garment to look the exact same way as the one your following. Try different fabrics and colors and prints, you may not always like your results, but it doesn’t hurt to experiment a little.

Zeba Ramos xx

2 Responses to “The Sari Abaya I Made On Me…”

  1. Rahee March 26, 2012 at 8:04 am #

    Asalam alaikum, mashaAllah for your hardwork. May Allah reward you for it. i am someone that is aspiring to be a fashion designer hence looking for a good fashion school to attend. I love being creative and innovative and will like to translate this skill to making clothes/hijabs.

    What advise can you give me on how to start. I am yet to get the school close to my house. From Nigeria.

    • hijabizlovefashiontoo March 26, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

      Walayko Masalaam Rahee,

      Thank you so much, I’ve been MIA for awhile but I will be doing something really soon Insha’Allah. Keep sketching your ideas and sewing, never stop, always believe in yourself and listen to all feedback, positvie or negative, it’ll help you grow as a designer. You can do anything you believe in and remember that not everyone will like your ideas and designs, you just have to do what makes you happy. School is really important to learn basic skills and once your done you can save up and start your own line or even make one of a kind styles to sell to help build your portfolio. Hope that helps and you can email me if you have any other questions. 🙂

      Mas Salaama

Leave a Reply

