A dress for Prom…

27 Jul

Two weeks before I had to leave for my Vancouver trip I agreed to make a prom dress for my sister in laws sister in law. Ha ha, if that makes any sense to anyone?? She is very tall, stunning and very thin. This was a very exciting project for me, one I wanted to complete in less then 20 hours. I am very proud to say that I did complete it in 18hours. Ofcourse it wasn’t a total of 18 hours in one day but over one week. The hem has fishing wire to help the dress look like it’s flowing in the air.

This is not my design, my model really wanted this gown for her prom, so here it is 🙂

The Process

Fitting and Pinning

Behind the scenes!

This really was a fun project for me and I really loved the model who the dress was made for. I had a good time at the photo shoot at Central Park!!! Thanks Rakee Photography and also a big thanks to my sister in law for the behind the scenes pics during the process!! xx

6 Responses to “A dress for Prom…”

  1. nina July 27, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Love these pics and Jhirette (and the dress) look Beautiful! xo

  2. Zubaida August 2, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    This dress isn’t halal…..

    • hijabizlovefashiontoo August 2, 2011 at 10:02 am #

      Assalaam Alaykum sister, thank you so much for pointing this out!!!! Really?? I am not the one wearing this dress and the girl I made it for isn’t Muslim, so in other words I really don’t think it matters. Sometimes Muslim women do wear things like this if it’s a womens only function and when it’s time for pictures they throw on abaya’s and hijab. This is something I made and I wanted to share it with my readers. I hope you understand sister. Thanks again for your comment and Ramadan Kareem!! 🙂 Mas Salaama

  3. Amber H August 2, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    This dress is very pretty, I sew but haven’t even come close to making a dress this stunning! Masha Allah, great work!

Leave a Reply

