Something lacy & blue continued

16 Jul

Assalaamu Alaykum all!

Jummah Mubarak! I hope you all are well Insha’Allah. As we are getting closer to another RAMADAN, let us all prepare! This will be the time to learn and understand our religion and most importantly get closer to our Creator Insha’Allah. Lets welcome this blessed month into our hearts and homes!

I designed a long sleeved tunic/dress for myself, sketched out my design and blogged about at the end of June. I finished sewing it a few days ago. I changed my design along the way, which I often do because I think of something better, but this time I had no choice. I wanted to add asymmetrical ruffles for the skirt part of the tunic/dress but in the end I didn’t have enough fabric. I bought the fabric from a flea market a while back and so I couldn’t go out and buy anymore of it. What I did instead was make the skirt into gathered bubbles, I had enough fabric for that and it worked out great.

I have had a chance to try it on but I haven’t taken pictures, so for now it’ll be on a mannequin. I love it! I know it’s very egotistical of me to say that I love my own designs and I love to wear them. This is rare, I’m never happy with my results and a lot of times I need assurance that it looks great. So, ALLHUMDULILLAH, when I get a good start to finish with minimal issues, i’m very happy with my results, hence this tunic/dress.

Stay tuned for me in it.
25 days till Ramadan!!! *Don’t forget to make up your fasts!*

PS: Sisters, what would you like me to blog about? Feel free to send in suggestions, drop me an email or comment below.

Mas Salaama

front view

side view

back view

view from below

2 Responses to “Something lacy & blue continued”

  1. nina July 16, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Beautiful! I Love it too! I need one in black or white! Is the middle elastic?
    How about NY fashion vs Canadian fashion? Or how to make one of those flowery headbands? Like this:
    http://www.jcrew.com/AST/Browse/WeddingParties/Wedding_Flower_Girl/flowergirl/PRDOVR~25590/25590.jsp

    • hijabizlovefashiontoo July 16, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

      LOL, your so cute! Yes, the middle is ruche’d and then I added the elastic. I could work with the headband with flowers! Thank you Nina!

Leave a Reply

