How to lengthen your t-shirts

16 Jun

Hey Ladies, I hope you are all well! How many of you have issues with short t-shirts? Well, I’m here to help you with that. I’m attaching two photos of t-shirts that I recently bought, they were too short so I lengthened them. This is how I did this one. I like to make my t-shirts extra long, this almost looks like a dress. I found an old shirt that I was about to donate, then I thought, HEY this can be recycled, so

(1) I cut off the top of the shirt (the sleeves and neck), and used the bottom.

(2) I pinned the bottom of the recycled shirt along the bottom of the t-shirt, but you have to make sure that you pin it so that the recycled raw edge is under the t-shirt that you want to lengthen.

(3) Next I sewed it on, right on top of the top-stitching and here it is. My new longer t-shirt. You have to make sure that the finished edge of the recycled shirt is on the bottom of the shirt, so you don’t have to re-finish it.This one I used my husbands tank top(wife beater-why is called that?). I did the exact steps as above. The wife beater was not the same width as my shirt, so I just stretched it out evenly and sewed it on. Keeping the finished edge on the bottom. Next time I do this, I will post step by step instructions with pictures.

Give it a go and email me pictures and I’ll post them up. BE creative. I will post some videos on how to make hijabs. I have some great ideas. So if you don’t own a sewing machine yet, go and get one and learn how to use it!!! xo

5 Responses to “How to lengthen your t-shirts”

  1. Betty Sahib June 16, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    AWesome, love it! Cant wait to c what u have next;)

  2. mahmoodafarooqui June 16, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    zeba,
    it is very creative , i like it.

  3. shabana June 16, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    great idea zeb!…so very creative!

  4. Saba June 16, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Awesome! Love it!

  5. hijabizlovefashiontoo June 16, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Thank you ladies! I have a lot more to share Insha’Allah!

Leave a Reply

